Read more and be a better writer.

I remember reading an interview with the great Stephen King where he talks about a good writer needing to be an avid reader. I tried that and couldn’t agree more, as I try to read more and more every week, I am becoming a better writer, not just grammatically but a more creatively writer too. It helps your mind open itself to new avenues, possibilities and have new and great ideas start popping out inside your head like some good popcorn being made, hot and delicious.

Being a newbie when it comes to writing has a few advantages ( very few ones ), one of them is the amount of great books, authors and resources that are new to you, waiting to be consumed and enjoyed. My passion for writing came at the same time that I discovered my obsession with movies, I just started watching more and more and still have so many great ones to watch, just like books, I discover each and every day a new author or novel that looks incredible juice to dive into, and that’s amazing.

I recently began thinking about setting up a reading goal for myself, I want to be able to read at least 15 books a year, it might not look like a lot by many readers but to me, a newbie and a slow reader, it’s a lot. This year I already read 3 books, and I’m currently reading 3 more, at the same time, I have a daily goal to read 12 pages of each book, and that way, I’m making some good progress. My daily goal as a writer is to write at least 700 words, I work 2 jobs at the moment so I feel that it is fair goal right now, I will try to reach 1000 words daily in the future, but for that I have to read more and work a lot harder on the craft of writing.

Some books that I read and am reading at the moment:

North Sea Hunters by Brad Harmer-Barnes

Swamp Monster Massacre by Hunter Shea

Only Human by Gareth Roberts ( Dr. Who book )

Leviathan Wakes by James S. A Corey

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab

The Baazar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King

I highly recommend the Youtube channel MonsterMan that Hunter Shea and Jack Campisi make, amazing book and movie recommendations there.

 

Leave a Reply

